The drama is over. The dust has settled. The debates are finished.

In our search for the 10 acts to go through to final of the 2021 Funny Women Stage Award, our team and a select panel of industry judges scored 372 submission videos in multiple stages; two preliminary rounds, 13 virtual heats rounds and four live online semi-finals, all in these crazy times!

We have been so impressed with this year’s entrants. We opened the competition to our global friends and are particularly delighted with the showing from Italy and The Netherlands, discovering some great new talents. The standard was very high and in the face of challenges, the level of dedication and willingness to embrace the new platforms, especially from our semi-finalists, has been truly inspiring.

Without further ado, we are delighted to announce that the 2021 Funny Women Stage Award finalists are:

Abby WambaughDenmark
Amelia StubberfieldUK – London
Beau HollandUK – London
Bronwyn SweeneyUK – South West
Caitlin PowellUK – London
Lara RicoteNetherlands
Louisa KeightUK – London
Natalie BellinghamUK – Yorkshire
Ola LabibUK – South East
Sharon WanjohiUK – London

Congratulations to you all!

Prizes for the 2021 Stage Award sponsored by Sky Studios include:

Finalists will be invited on a UK nationwide tour of clubs, arts centres and theatres with Mick Perrin Worldwide.​
A cash prize of £1000.
1 hour Studio time with professional photographer Steve Ullathorne.
Mentorship and Support from Funny Women, our Industry Partners and our Community.
A custom made Tatty Devine necklace trophy.
Opportunity for top placed international comedians to be represented in the UK by one of the industry’s leading companies. This will include a future run at the world famous Edinburgh Fringe.​

10 finalists will compete either in-person or virtually at the Stage Award final on Thursday 23rd September at the Bloomsbury Theatre, London. TICKETS HERE. The final will also be broadcast via our streaming partners, NextUp Comedy.

Shortlist for the Comedy Writing Award sponsored by Sky Studios HERE

Shortlist for the NextUp Comedy Shorts Award HERE

Nominate for the heat Comedy Content Award HERE

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

You might also like

From the Funny Women Team