Lara Ricote wins Best Newcomer in Dave’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards

Funny Women

Funny Women

Winners of the Dave’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2022 have been announced including Lara Ricote as Best Newcomer for her show GRL/LATNX/DEF. Lara shot to recognition when she won the Stage Award in last year’s Funny Women Awards.  

Founder and director of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards, Nica Burns, described 2022 as a ‘superb year’ at the Edinburgh Fringe, which returned to its pre-Covid vibrancy and provided a vital platform to the best ‘comedy industry in the world’.

The main prize of £10,000 for Best Show was won by Australian comedian and actor Sam Campbell for his appropriately named Comedy Show. Nominees for this award included Funny Women Awards alumni Lauren Pattison for her show It Is What It Is, and Amy Gledhill as half of The Delightful Sausage’s show, Nowt But Sea.

We were never in any doubt about the credentials of Lara Ricote and her show who was honoured as Best Newcomer netting her the £5,000 prize money. Mexican-born and Netherlands-based Lara who has major hearing loss described her win as ‘crazy’, stating that ‘My show isn’t that good – I can make a better one, I swear!’ We look forward to seeing this in the years to come. Nominees again included Amy Gledhill but this time for her debut one-woman show The Girl Before The Girl You Marry.

In a statement Nica Burns said: ‘Lara’s debut act at the Festival is an absolute delight. She’s completely distinct and very funny. She is a stand-out performer who happens to be hearing impaired.’

The Panel Prize went to Best In Class for championing working class comedians, created by Sian Davies, who was runner up to the Funny Women Stage Award in 2019. In her acceptance speech, Sian talked passionately about the prohibitive cost of taking part in the festival and how she was inspired to establish Best In Class after being asked to pay for appearing as part of a mixed bill at the Fringe some years previously.

Best In Class was described by the Awards as ‘a crowd-funded, profit-sharing initiative that champions working-class comedians from across the UK to access the Fringe.’ The arts should be accessible to everyone, regardless of their background so the £5,000 prize money for the Panel Prize will be welcome.

The judging panel consisted of Cherie Cunningham (Channel Director, Dave), Ashley Davies (Metro), Joe Hullait (Channel 4), Isobel Lewis (The Independent), Dominic Maxwell (The Times), Pete Strauss (BBC Studios) and public panellists Paul Abbey, Jo Kinsella and Monique May Munroe, with Sky’s Adnan Ahmed as Chair.

Dave’s Cherie Cunningham says: ‘We’re over the moon to be supporting and celebrating these amazing comics. The standard was incredibly high this year and we’re so pleased to crown such deserving winners. We look forward to seeing Lara and Sam on Dave soon.’

So do we!

Check these out

From the Funny Women Team

A Pat on the Back

I’m ‘awarding’ myself a great big pat on the back for getting through last year!  I’m older, wiser and a wee bit wobblier for the experience and super

Read More »

Write for us

If you are reading this, then a great big THANK YOU is required!  You may have noticed that it’s been a little bit quieter on our Magazine pages

Read More »
Get notified when registration opens

Comedy Shorts Award Entry Requirements

The deadline for registration for the Comedy Shorts Award has passed.

Funny Women NextUp…Comedy Shorts Award

Are you a budding Director? Producer? Screenwriter? Are you collaborating with friends to make a funny video? Then we are looking for YOU!

If you have a short film or sketch that you think is hilarious, then enter your work for our Comedy Shorts Award to be in with a chance of winning some life-changing support and mentoring from comedy professionals.


A 1- 6 minute film that can take the form of anything comical. It’s a great opportunity to show us your creative flair and have fun!


This award is open to all women filmmakers and content developers. The film must be an original narrative created, produced and devised by a woman, or women, although male cast and crew members are allowed.


Yes – we require all films to be 6 minutes or under, to be entirely original dialogue, to not feature brand logos and most importantly, to only use music with the written consent of the performer and/or publisher either personally or via the PRS system .


We will broadcast selected entries on our Funny Women YouTube channel and social media (so keep an eye out) and the top 10 finalists’ films will also hosted on a dedicated Funny Women Comedy Shorts Awards page on our website. We will also broadcast the final 3 entries as part of the grand final night.


Films are judged for production, concept, delivery/performance, creativity, writing and overall funniness. The top 10 films are then viewed by an independent judging panel of top television and film industry professionals who will choose one overall winner and two runners up. The final three will be invited to attend the grand final in London on the 23rd September.


2021 Funny Women Awards Prizes

The deadline for registration for the Comedy Shorts Award has passed.

If you need further information please contact us here