BBC Audio Drama Awards announced

Funny Women

Funny Women

The shortlist for the BBC Audio Drama Awards have been announced, including categories for comedy. Among the nominated are Olga Koch, Bridget Christie, and a one-off special starring Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders.

Up for Best Scripted Comedy (Longform) are:

  • Bridget Christie: Mortal by Bridget Christie, producer Carl Cooper, BBC Studios for Radio 4
  • Charles Paris: A Deadly Habit by Jeremy Front, an amateur detective story from the novels of Simon Brett, producer Sally Avens, BBC Audio Drama London for Radio 4
  • God Squad by Jack Chisnall and Barney Fishwick, producer David Tyler, Pozzitive for Radio 4
  • The Musical Life of… Betsi Cadwaladr by Dan Kiss and Dave Cribb, producers Tom Price and Dave Cribb, Rubber Chicken for Radio Walees
  • Olga Koch: OK Computer, stand-up show based on Benjamin Sutton, BBC Studios for Radio 4
  • Whatever Happened to Baby Jane Austen, a one-off show starring Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders star as respected novelist Florence and movie star Selina, written by David Quantick, produced by Liz Anstee of CPL Productionsfor Radio 4

Up for Best Scripted Comedy (Sketch Show) are:

  • The Damien Slash Mixtape by Daniel Barker, producer Benjamin Sutton, BBC Studios for Radio 4
  • Drop the Dead Panda East Asian themed comedy show by Evelyn Mok, Ken Cheng, Amille Jampa-Ngoen, Vivian Xie, Joanne Lao, Bruce Tang, producer Sam Michell, BBC Studios for Radio 4
  • Gemma Arrowsmith: Emergency Broadcast by Gemma Arrowsmith, producer Victoria Lloyd, Mighty Bunny Productions for Radio 4. It also starred With Tom Crowley, Adam Courting, Hugh Dennis & Susan Harrison.
  • Newsjack, Series 24 by presenter Kiri Pritchard-McLean and members of the  public. Producers Gwyn Rhys-Davies and Hayley Sterling, BBC Studios
  • The Skewer by creator and producer Jon Holmes with members of the public, Unusual Productions
  • Sound Heap by John-Luke Roberts, with Cariad Lloyd, Charlie George, Deborah Frances-White, Gareth Gwynn, Katherine Parkinson, Katy Brand, Ken Cheng, Kieran Hodgson, Paddy Gervers, Ruth Bratt, Saima Ferdows, Sooz Kempner, Amy Gledhill & Chris Cantrill, Tom Allen, Tom Neenan and Toussaint Douglass, producer Ed Morrish, Lead Mojo.

The winners of the BBC Audio Drama Awards will be announced in London on Sunday 20th March.

Check these out

From the Funny Women Team

Best in Class Lineup Announced

Best in Class is back with a bang at this year’s Edinburgh Fringe. The crowdfunded, profit-sharing initiative, founded by 2019 Funny Women Awards runner-up Sian Davies, champions the talent of working-class comedians.

Read More »

The Honest Truth: Friendships

With shows like Sex and The City we are taught that friendships are forever, but that’s not always the case. Losing a friendship can be as difficult as a breakup. In fact, it is a breakup in some case, isn’t it? Some of my friendships have lasted as long as one of Kim Kardashian’s marriages.

Read More »
Get notified when registration opens

Comedy Shorts Award Entry Requirements

The deadline for registration for the Comedy Shorts Award has passed.

Funny Women NextUp…Comedy Shorts Award

Are you a budding Director? Producer? Screenwriter? Are you collaborating with friends to make a funny video? Then we are looking for YOU!

If you have a short film or sketch that you think is hilarious, then enter your work for our Comedy Shorts Award to be in with a chance of winning some life-changing support and mentoring from comedy professionals.


A 1- 6 minute film that can take the form of anything comical. It’s a great opportunity to show us your creative flair and have fun!


This award is open to all women filmmakers and content developers. The film must be an original narrative created, produced and devised by a woman, or women, although male cast and crew members are allowed.


Yes – we require all films to be 6 minutes or under, to be entirely original dialogue, to not feature brand logos and most importantly, to only use music with the written consent of the performer and/or publisher either personally or via the PRS system .


We will broadcast selected entries on our Funny Women YouTube channel and social media (so keep an eye out) and the top 10 finalists’ films will also hosted on a dedicated Funny Women Comedy Shorts Awards page on our website. We will also broadcast the final 3 entries as part of the grand final night.


Films are judged for production, concept, delivery/performance, creativity, writing and overall funniness. The top 10 films are then viewed by an independent judging panel of top television and film industry professionals who will choose one overall winner and two runners up. The final three will be invited to attend the grand final in London on the 23rd September.


2021 Funny Women Awards Prizes

The deadline for registration for the Comedy Shorts Award has passed.

If you need further information please contact us here