Kate Stone

Kate Stone

Jayde Adams shortlisted for Chortle Awards Best Newcomer

The 17th Chortle Awards shortlists have been announced and 2014 Funny Women Awards winner Jayde Adams has been shortlisted in the Best Newcomer category, while 2008 winner Katherine Ryan has been shortlisted for Best TV Comedian. Phoebe Waller-Bridge’s Fleabag has been nominated for Best TV comedy, with Phoebe Waller-Bridge and her on-screen step-mum Olivia Colman nominated in the Best TV Actor category, up against Diane Morgan and Leslie Manville.

Bridget Christie’s show Because You Demanded It is up for Best Show, Laura Lexx is up for Best Compere while Emma Sidi and Lolly Adefope have been shortlisted in the Variety and Character category. Deborah Frances-White Rolls The Dice is up for the Radio Award and her podcast with Sofie Hagen The Guilty Feminist is shortlisted in the Internet category. Shortlisted in the Book Category are Isy Suttie’s The Actual One, Sara Pascoe’s Animal and Nina is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi.

The shortlists are chosen by a panel of industry comedy experts, and comedy fans are invited to vote for their favourites here by 24th February. The winners will be announced next month.

Here are the shortlists in full.

Best newcomer

Jayde Adams
Tom Ward
Sophie Willan
Bilal Zafar

Best compere

Laura Lexx
Justin Moorhouse
David Morgan
Kiri Pritchard McLean

Breakthrough act

Joel Dommett
Scott Gibson
Tez Ilyas
Suzi Ruffell

Club comedian

Carl Donnelly
Carey Marx
Phil Nichol
Pierre Novellie

Variety and character award

Lolly Adefope
Spencer Jones
Nick Mohammed for Mr Swallow
Emma Sidi

Best show

David Baddiel: My Family Not The Sitcom
Bridget Christie: Because You Demanded It
Richard Gadd: Monkey See Monkey Do
Kieran Hodgson: Maesto
Stewart Lee: Content Provider

Best tour

Billy Connolly: High Horse
Mark Thomas: The Red Shed
Romesh Ranganathan: Irrational
Reeves & Mortimer: Poignant Moments

Best TV comedy

Alan Partridge’s Scissored Isle
People Just Do Nothing

Best TV comedy entertainment

Alan Davies As Yet Untitled
Dave Gorman: Modern Life Is Goodish
Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle

Best TV actor

Olivia Colman (Flowers and Fleabag)
Leslie Manville (Mum)
Diane Morgan (Motherland and Cunk On…)
Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Fleabag)

Best TV comedian

Richard Ayoade
Greg Davies
Stewart Lee
Romesh Ranganathan
Katherine Ryan

Radio award

Alexei Sayle’s Imaginary Sandwich Bar
Deborah Frances-White Rolls The Dice
Elis James and John Robins (Radio X)
Mark Steel’s In Town

Book award

The Actual One by Isy Suttie
Animal by Sara Pascoe
Nina Is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi
Nomad by Alan Partridge

Internet Award

Adam Buxton Podcast
The Guilty Feminist podcast with Deborah Frances-White and Sofie Hagen
The Parapod with Barry Dodds and Ian Boldswoth

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

You might also like

From the Funny Women Team

Liz Kingsman: One Woman Show

When you see One Woman Show — and you will — you’ll want to talk about it to everyone who’ll listen. You’ll want to see it again, maybe twice, and then organise some sort of One Woman Show book club event where you sit around in a circle and list all the funniest and cleverest parts.

Read More »

Meet 2021 Stage Awards Runner-up Bronwyn Sweeney!

Bronwyn Sweeney impressed the judges at the 2021 Funny Women Awards Grand Final with her high energy performance and inside secrets about working in advertising! We caught up with Bronwyn to talk about what inspires her comedy and the strange situation where she discovered she was funny…

Read More »

Sara Barron: Enemies Closer

It’s perhaps bad form to start a review by commenting on what the comic is wearing but I reckon, in saying that I was slightly distracted for a minute by her incredible E.T. shirt, Sara Barron would think I am just being perceptive. (I need that shirt.)

Read More »