Funny Women Alumni Picks

We’ve had the pleasure of seeing many extremely talented female comedians over 13 years of the Funny Women Awards. We’ll be profiling our illustrious alumni throughout the year, celebrating their success beyond Awards. We’re kicking off 2016 with these picks…

2015 was a brilliant year for Katherine Ryan, the 2008 Funny Women Awards winner had a sell-out tour, presented Bring the Noise on Sky One, Hair and Live at the Apollo on BBC.

2014 Funny Women Awards runner up Lauren Pattison supported Katherine Ryan and Stewart Francis on tour, Stewart seems to be a fan of our alumni as 2015 Funny Women Awards runner up Sarah Keyworth also supported him on his tour. Sarah’s fellow runner up, Helen Monks is filming the second series of Raised by Wolves for Channel 4.

Last year’s Awards winner Desiree Burch is bringing her show Tar baby to the Vaults Festival in February, don’t miss it!

She was a finalist in 2014 since then Samantha Baines has been Time Out Featured Blogger of the Year, as well as making frequent radio appearances on BBC Radio 4, XFM, BBC London and weekly show on Hoxton Radio. This year Samantha is taking her first hour long show to Edinburgh, watch this space!

As for the winner of our 2014 Awards, Jayde Adams has had appearances on Russell Howard’s Gurt Lush Christmas and Spencer Jones’ Christmas for Sky Arts.

Creator of our favourite children’s author character and 2015 finalist Jane Postlethwaite launched her Spectacular Podcast last year and it’s going from strength to strength, featuring in the New and Noteworthy section of Itunes. Jane runs a successful Brighton comedy night called the Bad Book Project which involves very funny people reading from bad books. She is also taking her show, Made in Cumbria’ back to Brighton Fringe and then for the first time to Edinburgh Festival.

We can’t get enough of 2006 finalist Diane Morgan as Philomena Cunk on Charlie Brookers Screen Wipe, she’s also made numerous appearances on TV panel shows.

2013 winners Twisted Loaf wrote and starred in their own Christmas short for Sky Arts and 2013 Variety Award winners Revan and Fennell are in the final of this year’s New Act of the Year Awards.

She won the 2012 Awards with her hilarious character act and now Gabby Best is starring in BBC3’s Top Coppers. 2012 finalist Sofie Hagen won Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Award Best Newcomer and has just wrapped up a run of her show Bubblewrap at the Soho Theatre

Viv Groskop The Pool’s resident agony aunt, and TV reviewer for The Guardian made our finals in 2012.

Next month 2004 runner up Ria Lina’s Edinburgh show, Ria Lina’s School of Riason will be recorded for BBC Radio 4. This is Ria’s first solo show for BBC Radio Comedy.

2004 winner Zoe Lyons was crowned Comedian’s Comedian 2015, we’re expecting Zoe to go from strength to strength in 2016.

Fancy being part of our alumni? Registration for the 2016 Funny Women Awards will open up in March – stay tuned!

Keep a look out for our next set of Alumni picks in Spring!