James Burns

James Burns

Top Three for Comedy Shorts and Writing Awards!

We are delighted to announce the final three shortlisted writers and film makers going through to the final stages of our prestigious Comedy Writing Award and Comedy Shorts Award

It was a hard decision, as ever, but our wonderful judges: Andrea Mann (Huffington Post UK Comedy Editor), Gavin Smith (The Comedy Unit), Gurinder Chadha (Award winning film director) and Lourdes Diaz (Comedy Central); helped us whittle down the longlists to choose the final top three in both categories.

The overall winners will be announced at the glittering Funny Women Awards Final on Monday evening, 22nd September in front of an invited audience and in support of domestic violence charity, Refuge

So, without further ado, our top three fianlists are:

Comedy Writing Award

Chorus by Natalie Willbe
In These Shoes? By Sophie Fletcher and Megan Heffernan
Single Young Professionals by Joanne Lau

Comedy Shorts Award

Time Again by Sally Cancello
Ashes To Ashes by Aurora Fearnley and Carolyn Goodyear
Paula Bear by Letty Butler and Lucy Pearman

Good luck to all our amazingly talented finalists and we look forward to meeting you on Monday!

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

You might also like

From the Funny Women Team

Liz Kingsman: One Woman Show

When you see One Woman Show — and you will — you’ll want to talk about it to everyone who’ll listen. You’ll want to see it again, maybe twice, and then organise some sort of One Woman Show book club event where you sit around in a circle and list all the funniest and cleverest parts.

Read More »

Meet 2021 Stage Awards Runner-up Bronwyn Sweeney!

Bronwyn Sweeney impressed the judges at the 2021 Funny Women Awards Grand Final with her high energy performance and inside secrets about working in advertising! We caught up with Bronwyn to talk about what inspires her comedy and the strange situation where she discovered she was funny…

Read More »

Sara Barron: Enemies Closer

It’s perhaps bad form to start a review by commenting on what the comic is wearing but I reckon, in saying that I was slightly distracted for a minute by her incredible E.T. shirt, Sara Barron would think I am just being perceptive. (I need that shirt.)

Read More »