Funny Women Awards 2012 – up and running for 10th year

James Burns

James Burns

The Funny Women Awards 2012 are officially underway for the 10th year running.  We’re extending our initial search to Ireland and Scotland and looking forward to seeing some great new female comedy from all around the UK.  Our first round of heats will see us visit Brighton, London, Dublin, Manchester and Edinburgh during April and May.

As it’s our 10thAnniversary we’re looking for the top 100 acts to appear in 10 regional final shows during June, July and August.  The winning act from each show will be offered a much coveted place in this year’s final on Monday 24thSeptember at the Leicester Square Theatre.

The main prize this year is the Benefit Funny Women Award, sponsored by Benefit Cosmetics. The Winner will receive a bursary worth £2,000 which includes a career boosting development package with Funny Women and Red 24 Management plus £500 worth of Benefit products!

Kyra Oates, head of promotions for Benefit Cosmetics says “Funny Women is all about empowering women which is what we do through our products so the synergy is perfect! As we say at Benefit, ‘laughter is the best cosmetic….so grin and wear it!’.”

The Variety Award looks for the best new sketch, character or speciality act and is sponsored by wine company, Blue Nun. The winner will receive their very own fully promoted show in the Lounge studio at the Leicester Square Theatre.

Julia Savage of the Brand Placement Agency representing Blue Nun says “Laughter, just like a good glass of wine, connects people and we’re proud to be supporting fabulous female talent and comedy.”

The Comedy Writing Award offers non-performers with great ideas a chance to compete. Details about this award, being run for the second year running, will be announced shortly. Guidelines for the Writing Award can be found HERE

The 2011 competition attracted 250 entrants and was won by the ‘people pleasing’ Lara A King. The Variety Award was won by sketch duo Ladies Live Longer, Victoria Temple-Morris and Louise Fitzgerald and the newly launched Comedy Writing Award, was won by Christine Robertson.

Previous winners include Thankless Child, aka Liz Black and Freya Slipper in 2010, Variety Award winner Gemma Whelan, 2010, 2009 victor and CBBC star, Miss London; Canadian Katherine Ryan in 2008; the hugely successful Andi Osho in 2007; Suzy Bennett, who hosted the 2011 final and took the title in 2006; Debra-Jane Appelby, winner 2005; Zoe Lyons, who won in 2004, and Sarah Adams, who triumphed performing as Jade The Folk Singer in 2003.  You can read all about their experiences of winning the Awards HERE.

Other successful Funny Women Awards finalists include Katie Wix, Anna Crilly, Bridget Christie, Susan Calman, Diane Morgan, Emma Fryer, Kerry Godliman, Wendy Wason, Sara Pascoe, Roisin Conaty and Holly Walsh as well as the hugely successful Sarah Millican.

As with every year since the Awards were first launched, we will be partnering a charity.  You can see who we’ve worked with in the past HERE.  This year we are partnering Women’s Aid, (add website)  the national domestic violence charity who do fantastic work helping up to 250,000 women and children every year. The charity works to end violence against women and children, and supports over 500 domestic and sexual violence services across the country.

If you prefer to stay out of the limelight, tickets to the first round heats are just £5 and for this you will get to experience some fantastic new comedy with brilliant hosts to guide you through the evening. All the dates for the first round of heats along with booking information can be found HERE.


Check these out

From the Funny Women Team

Write for us

If you are reading this, then a great big THANK YOU is required!  You may have noticed that it’s been a little bit quieter on our Magazine pages

Read More »

A Pat on the Back

I’m ‘awarding’ myself a great big pat on the back for getting through last year!  I’m older, wiser and a wee bit wobblier for the experience and super

Read More »
Get notified when registration opens

Comedy Shorts Award Entry Requirements

The deadline for registration for the Comedy Shorts Award has passed.

Funny Women NextUp…Comedy Shorts Award

Are you a budding Director? Producer? Screenwriter? Are you collaborating with friends to make a funny video? Then we are looking for YOU!

If you have a short film or sketch that you think is hilarious, then enter your work for our Comedy Shorts Award to be in with a chance of winning some life-changing support and mentoring from comedy professionals.


A 1- 6 minute film that can take the form of anything comical. It’s a great opportunity to show us your creative flair and have fun!


This award is open to all women filmmakers and content developers. The film must be an original narrative created, produced and devised by a woman, or women, although male cast and crew members are allowed.


Yes – we require all films to be 6 minutes or under, to be entirely original dialogue, to not feature brand logos and most importantly, to only use music with the written consent of the performer and/or publisher either personally or via the PRS system .


We will broadcast selected entries on our Funny Women YouTube channel and social media (so keep an eye out) and the top 10 finalists’ films will also hosted on a dedicated Funny Women Comedy Shorts Awards page on our website. We will also broadcast the final 3 entries as part of the grand final night.


Films are judged for production, concept, delivery/performance, creativity, writing and overall funniness. The top 10 films are then viewed by an independent judging panel of top television and film industry professionals who will choose one overall winner and two runners up. The final three will be invited to attend the grand final in London on the 23rd September.


2021 Funny Women Awards Prizes

The deadline for registration for the Comedy Shorts Award has passed.

If you need further information please contact us here