Women scoop prizes at 10th Anniversary Musical Comedy Awards

In a year when we are celebrating 100 years of female suffrage, it seems fitting that women should be winning all the prizes at the 10th anniversary final of the WeGotTickets Musical Comedy Awards which took place at the Underbelly Festival Southbank last night.

The bar was set high and, to our delight, there was some stunning representation of female humour, so good in fact that both the main prize and Best Newcomer went to female acts.

The overall winners were musical duo, Stiff and Kitsch, one half of whom is already familiar to us here at Funny Women. Rhiannon Neads was a finalist in the 2017 Comedy Writing Award, and together with her comedy sparring partner, Sally O’Leary, they sung their way to success last night, having already completed two runs at the Edinburgh Fringe in 2016 and 2017 and picking up a comedy award for their show at the 2017 Vault Festival.

This year’s MCA Best Newcomer accolade went to Charlotte Brooke.  Her clever musical whimsy caught the eye of audiences and we are looking forward to seeing more of Charlotte on the circuit.

It was a caring, sharing kind of night with an overall high standard incorporating all music genres from hip hop to nursery rhymes.  Whether out of kindness or indecisiveness, second and third places were shared about which seemed appropriate given the nature and celebratory nature of an event which has spanned 10 years.

Third place was shared by Joe Jacobs and Luke Courtier, and second place shared by Cassie Atkinson and Archie Henderson. Audience Favourite deservedly went to Dave Bibby. The show was headlined by last year’s winner Will Hislop and hosted by Miss Frisky.

Missed it?  There’s more in store on Saturday 12th May back at the Underbelly Southbank with the 10th Anniversary Musical Comedy Awards show headlined by Rachel Parris.

For details and tickets click here.