2017 Funny Women Comedy Writing Award Judges Announced!

In true Mr-Kipling-esque fashion we here at Funny Women are exceedingly pleased to announce the readers and judges line-up for the 2017 Comedy Writing Award.

The Comedy Writing Award celebrates emerging female writing talent with a mastery of words and a comic creative edge. We’re looking for TV or radio scripts that feature engaging concepts with a distinctive tone, colourful, compelling and unique characters, vivid plots/scenes full of delicious conflict and sharp, smart dialogue with plenty of great jokes.

The winner will receive a script development package from Why did the Chicken? and a 10-minute audio pilot produced by Why did the Chicken? and Funny Women which will broadcast on the brand new Women’s Radio Station, launching early in 2018.  Two runners-up will receive a professional script report and an interview published on the Why did the Chicken? ‘comedy secrets’ blog.

The readers looking forward to getting their wind-up comedy teeth into your scripts include:

Vicky Hopewell – director and head of comedy A&R at Sue Terry Voices

Grace Browning – writer and casting agent at Kester Browning

Ruth Wright – producer and performer

Kate Hinksman – sketch writer with credits on Newsjack and Class Dismissed

Amy Binns – film specialist and comedy aficionado

Paul Baynes – radio and television writer and producer

And the judges who will be deciding the Winners, plus supporting the readers, are:

Janet Awe – comedy development executive at Sky TV

Zara Meerza – writer and producer working across comedy, documentary and drama

Jenny Laville – writer, performer and previous holder of the 2016 BBC Comedy Bursary

Karen Rosie – former BBC comedy and entertainment producer

Jenny Bolt – actor, director and comedy workshop facilitator

Lynne Parker – founder and executive producer of Funny Women

Kate Stone – award-winning scriptwriter and editor of

Daniel Page – Writer and Chief Egg at Why did the Chicken?

Remember, you have until the 31st of December to submit your entries!